Facebook Slider

Exploring Birdsong Share The Downpour

Piano-led British trio Exploring Birdsong share their new single ‘The Downpour’ along with a music video. It's the second single taken from their debut EP, The Thing With Feathers, coming November 29 via Long Branch Records.

Exploring Birdsong comments on the new single, “‘The Downpour’ has always has been a special song for us. Written more or less in the space of a night, the song focusses directly on loss, and the emotional turmoil that can come with it. With this is mind, our intention was to leave it open to interpretation lyrically -  due to the emotional nature of the lyrical content, we felt it important that the listener is able to make the song as personal to them as it is us.”

Rarely are new groups as exciting, talented or unique as Exploring Birdsong, the piano-led guitarless trio from Liverpool. Straddling progressive rock, pop, and uncategorizable genre-blending beauty, the band deliver with their debut EP, The Thing With Feathers. The release follows the success of singles ‘The Baptism’ and the one-take a capella version of the classic ‘(Don’t Fear) The Reaper’.

Rarely too do you hear voices as captivating as frontwoman Lynsey Ward’s. Powerful, controlled, and spine-chillingly tender, Lynsey’s vocals help mark Exploring Birdsong as a prospect to watch, not least in the staggering ‘The Downpour’, described by the band as “our Great Gig In The Sky”. Also playing keyboards, she is backed by the jawdropping talents of Matt on drums/percussion and Jonny on bass/second keyboards (sometimes playing both bass and keys simultaneously).

The EP is broadly speaking a concept release, centred on the Seamus Heaney poem ‘Bye Child’ and the story of Kevin Halfpenny, one of the most bizarre cases of child cruelty ever recorded. This is mirrored in the EP title and cover art (designed by Lynsey), with broken backbones becoming broken wings. The title itself also references Emily Dickinson’s “’Hope’ is the thing with feathers” poem, which itself is a call-back to the music found within.


1 Hope

2 The River

3 The Sinking Question

4 The Thing With Feathers

5 The Baptism

6 The Downpour

7 Deliverance (CD-EP Bonus Track)



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top