Facebook Slider

The Fabulous New Sounds Of...King Prawn

Dive headlong back into the wild and wonderful world of King Prawn. The band’s epic fifth studio album, The Fabulous New Sounds Of…, their first since 2003, takes the listener through a vibrant and eclectic journey through their musical heritage.

Five years in the making, a revitalised King Prawn have recorded a modern British rock album that challenges and charms in equal measure. The band frame poignant lyrical commentary of modern humanity with more hooks than a copy of Fisherman’s Weekly. From the thunderous stomping opener ‘Numeration Dub’, the explosive new single ‘Level Up’ and the brass-led heartfelt closer ‘Black Beads,’ this is an album that remains loyal to the band’s ska punk roots and displays the wealth of musical experience that Al Rumjen (vocals), Devil Hands (guitar) and Nikolai Jones (drums) have after years of gigging as one of the UK’s most incendiary live bands.

From the early ‘90s King Prawn’s infectious blend of ska, hip-hop & punk rock earned them a reputation as one of the most entertaining live acts coming out of London. The rock press loved their sense of unpredictability and their huge fanbase adored their ability to simultaneously implode and explode on stage. Following critically acclaimed albums and shows with likes of Madness, Desmond Dekker and Therapy?, the decision to split in 2003 at the height of their popularity left a lasting legacy.

Now expanded to a seven-piece with brass section and keyboards, King Prawn remain one of the seminal ska-punk bands of the scene and still play live on a regular basis, with gigs across the country and headline sets at festivals like Slam Dunk and Boomtown Fair.


1. Numeration Dub

2. Seven Seas

3. Build Up The Fire

4. Level Up

5. Done Days

6. Modern Cages

7. Worse for Where

8. No Harmony

9. Jump In The fire

10. Colonel Panic

11. A Solemn Man

12. Black Beads


Live Dates:

Manchester Punk Festival 19th April

02 Academy Islington 20th April

Hastings Blackmarket VIP 21st April




Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top