Facebook Slider

Choice Music Prize Shortlist Revealed

The Shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2016 is here. The shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2016 is as follows:

All TvvinsIIVV (Warner Music)

BantumMove (Self Released)

Wallis BirdHome (Mount Silver / Caroline International)

The Divine ComedyForeverland (Divine Comedy Records)

Lisa HanniganAt Swim (Play It Again Sam)

Katie KimSalt (Art For Blind Records)

James Vincent McMorrowWe Move (Faction Records)

Overhead, The AlbatrossLearning To Growl (Self Released)

Rusangano FamilyLet The Dead Bury The Dead (Self Released)

We Cut CornersThe Cadences Of Others (Delphi)

The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 9th March 2017. As part of the new partnership, the event will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four hour extended programme from 7-11pm.

The 12th annual RTÉ Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish musical calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of twelve Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially commissioned award.

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top