Facebook Slider

Hungarian Experimental Progressive Rock From Ajna

  • Published in News

Regular readers will already know that Finland’s Inverse Records are the most interesting rock/metal label out there. You’ll also know that they should be your first port of call if you are into Hungarian experimental progressive rock. And if you’re not already into Hungarian experimental progressive rock, then you should correct that immediately. After Angertea, Guruzsmas, and Ghost Toast, Inverse bring us Ajna.

Ajna is set to release their debut album, Rengeteg, on April 9th. The band comments comments: "We can't describe our style and it's good. All three of us are inspired by different musical backgrounds and these inspirations take just a small part of our music. We don't listen bands like us or who have similar themes to ours so we can only go after our own head while making a song. We make our own music."

Ajna is an instrumental trio from a village called Kondoros, Hungary. The band's core was set up around 1999 but Ajna itself was founded in Kondoros in 2010 after the bassist came in to the band and with this the formation was complete.


1. Rengeteg

2. B’

3. Eta Carinae

4. Spirál

5. Nyergelt táltos kancacsikók

6. Hekate

7. Turba

8. Seiran

9. Zsuzsi mozog




The Nest Announce Ad Astra

  • Published in News

The Nest is an atmospheric alternative rock band from Southern Finland. Their moody music explores the sacredness of nature, life and death, love and mystery. The singer and keyboard player, Sally Armbrecht, is originally from the US.

Both the bass player, Markus Lehtinen, and the drummer, Tuomas Villikka, hail from Finland, and it is this interesting collision of culture and musical tastes that makes The Nest’s sound unique.

The music relies on a contraposition of heavy bass and drums with soaring female vocals and poetic lyrics. Influences are from bands as diverse as NIN, Dead Can Dance, Jefferson Airplane, Florence and The Machine, and The Doors.


01. Tena Timetraveller

02. River Mnemosyne

03. Nevermore

04. We All Bleed Red

05. Koski Listener

06. The Watcher

07. DeathClock

08. This House Breathes Fear



Subscribe to this RSS feed