Facebook Slider

The Metal Detector 20220214

  • Published in Columns



Hello from sunny but freezing Dublin, and welcome to The Metal Detector, Muso’s Guide home of metal, and related musical ramblings.  If there’s a metal band you think we should be writing about, please get in touch on our Twitter and Instagram, and let us know.


The words Hungarian instrumental prog metal, may, quite rightly, scare off some.  I’m among that cohort.  I’m an old punk and metal fan, and I despise prog, but I’ve been following Debrecen’s Ghost Toast since they signed to Inverse Records.



Inverse are one of my favourite metal labels.  They work with bands from all over Europe and release new records almost weekly.  I’ve found some of my favourite tunes there in recent years. Not least ‘Eclipse’ from their last album, Shape Without Form.  The follow-up is Shape Without Color and they’ve gone even further down the prog rabbit hole on this one. It takes balls of brass to release a 12-minute single to launch your album but, too often, it feels like longer than that.



The band was formed in Debrecen, Hungary in 2008 and they appear to be on a similar trajectory to Liverpool’s Anathema.  They blend instrumental styles from heavy and groovy metal to the tight syncopation and drones of prog.  They’re still capable of rocking out and laying down head-banging riffs, but there’s just a build-up of fluff in between.  There are moments when that indulgent streak becomes overpowering and listening feels like an endurance test.  It becomes ambient music for metallers like 65 Days of Static or Tool.  Hopefully the rest of the album is tighter.










Rückwater Go Supernova

  • Published in News

Demonstrating their rough sound in previous EP Bonehead, Finnish stoner-rock group Rückwater is about to release their debut album, Supernova. The album provides a mixture from heavy rocking songs to more mellow tunes. The power-trio’s sound comes from heavy riffs combined with two lead singers and a dynamic drummer.

The story of Rückwater started in 2010 when the loudest men in the band Make (vocals/guitar) and Jussi (vocals/bass) hit their stonehead`s together. Make`s brother Jape was a natural choice for drums, after all the brothers have played together for years.

The idea was to just play some covers (Alice In Chains, Pantera etc) and have a good time, but after few jam sessions they was already had some original songs. Playing together just clicked in a natural and groovy way.

In early 2016, their third EP, Bonehead, was recorded live. Recording live is the most natural thing for the band. It makes the record feel more raw, real and dynamic. Frustration about almost everything is maybe the main source for the whole record, you can hear it in the lyrics and the way the band plays.

After the release of Bonehead, Rückwater continued doing little tours like in Baltia and started to plan their next recording session. The idea was to finally make a full length album. The band booked the same studio and sound engineer and started to record Supernova. The album was recorded live, capturing the groove of the band. The album is set to be released on July 23 by Inverse Records.

Track list:

01. Rat in a Jar

02. Cruel Thing

03. Supernova

04. Once More With Feeling

05. Broken Stone

06. Foreverplay

07. Blindfold

08. Paragon of B.S

09. Rocket Fuel

10. 3/1


Subscribe to this RSS feed