Facebook Slider

Asylums New Album Out Now

Asylums released their highly anticipated new album, Alien Human Emotions, last Friday through much respected indie label, (owned and run by Asylums) Cool Thing Records. Receiving incredible support from media across the board from BBC Radio 1 to The Independent (who have run an exclusive album stream and interview), Asylums aren’t waiting for millennial redemption to find them, they’re making their own.

Straight out of Essex and running at full throttle, the band have taken the challenge of the “difficult” second album and used it as a jump ramp to a higher plane. The band has changed fundamentally in the last two years, certainly older and potentially wiser. A project that started out as a fizzing ball of un-focused youthful energy (albeit one with great tunes) has morphed into something altogether darker and more intense.

Alien Human Emotions tackles themes of bitter sex and soured relationships which swirl over bleak analyses of a disintegrating social and political landscape. Frustrated rage writhes below the surface on every track and occasionally bursts through with a shocking intensity. But everywhere are hooks both musical and lyrical that demand repeat listens. The music seeping through owes as much to the brooding darkness of The Cure as it does to the disjointed mind of Flaming Lips singer Wayne Coyne, both of which only add to the dark danceability of the album.

Track List:

1: Day Release To The Moon

2: When We Wake Up

3: Bottle Bank

4: Alien Human Emotions

5: Millennials

6: Napalm Bubblegum

7: Pause

8: Graveyard Tourism

9: Critical Mass

10: Homeowners Guilt

11: Sexual Automation

12: The Company You Keep




Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top