Facebook Slider

Surfer Blood Share New Track

The Florida band are sharing 'Frozen', the latest track to emerge from new album Snowdonia, due out February 3 through Joyful Noise/Secretly Canadian. Previous singles have included ‘Six Flags in F or G’, one of the darker songs on the album, and ‘Matter of Time’, a classic Surfer Blood pop song. Surfer Blood will be over for a London Oslo headline on March 23, with further UK shows due to be announced very soon.

Snowdonia is the first Surfer Blood album to be written and mixed solely by frontman John Paul Pitts since their breakout debut Astro Coast. It's also the band's first release since the loss of guitarist Thomas Fekete to cancer last year. It finds the band tackling heavy themes like mortality and raging through longer, more complex songs, while still incorporating plenty of their signature pop hooks.

Snowdonia was written specifically with the band's current lineup and new strengths in mind: wanting to play up guitarist Michael McCleary and bassist Lindsey Mills' vocal skills, Pitts wrote layers of vocals into almost every track and added call-and-response parts between himself and Mills throughout the album. With enormous attention to detail, the eight tracks on Snowdonia make the album Surfer Blood's most ambitious release yet.

Listen to 'Frozen' here


March 23 – London, Oslo

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top