Facebook Slider
Marky Edison

Marky Edison

Roosevelt And Washed Out Forgive

Marius Lauber AKA Roosevelt’s ambitious and breathtakingly modern follow-up to his self-titled debut is out next month. Young Romance sees the German artist breaking free from the dance floor and stepping out into the light, effortlessly bridging that gap and asserting his place in the upper echelons of guitar and synth-pop royalty. Now less reliant on a four-to-the-floor kick drum as a rhythmic backbone, this sophomore record sees him embrace grooves of all shapes and sizes, and his first guest feature with the inimitable vocals of Ernest Green of Washed Out.

Fusing chillwave and guitar-pop to sublime effect, the effortlessly breezy ‘Forgive’ combines guileless vocals with lush warm reverb and palpable bass frequencies. “I saw Ernest followed me on Instagram and I was so happy to find out he was a fan. He has always been a massive influence and this track was written around the vocal stems he sent back within days – a real collaborative effort,” says Lauber.

Young Romance was written in his home town of Cologne and finished in Los Angeles, where it was also mixed by Chris Coady (Beach House/Grizzly Bear/Future Islands) at the legendary Sunset Sound Studios. Penned from self-reflective distance and brimming with fresh ideas and confidence, Lauber balances escapism and wistfulness in equal measure, documenting his own artistic transitions and personal experiences along the way. “I ended up processing a lot of emotions that I felt during my youth” he says, “faded relationships that haunted me for years, being on the road for what seemed like forever and the constant search for a place to call home.”

Young Romance covers the trials and tribulations of falling in love, finding ‘home’, going on tour and losing touch, propelling Roosevelt into unchartered territory, both sonically and aesthetically, and the results are thrilling. It is set for release via Greco-Roman / City Slang on September 28, with Roosevelt embarking on his biggest ever headline tour across Europe and N America.

Tour Dates

Nov 8 - London, UK - Oval Space

Nov 9 - Manchester, UK - Now Wave




Death Valley Girls New Video With Iggy Pop

Los Angeles doom boogie/dystopian punk/occult glam rockers Death Valley Girls have announced their third studio album Darkness Rains, out October 5 via Suicide Squeeze. The announcement arrives with the Iggy Pop-starring video for the fierce new single, ‘Disaster (Is What We’re After)’.

The video, directed by Kansas Bowling and shot on 16mm film, is a recreation of the famous Andy Warhol Eating a Hamburger short film, but starring Iggy Pop, eating a burger, listening to Death Valley Girls (which he proudly proclaims at the end).

“We’re strong believers in opti-mysticism and connecting with people through rock n’ roll,” Death Valley Girls say of the cosmically fitting union of Iggy Pop starring in their new video. “Having Iggy dig our music was more than amazing for us. When Kansas told us she had a dream about recreating the Andy Warhol Eating a Hamburger short film but with Iggy starring for our music video, we were cautiously excited about the possibility. Next thing we know we’re in Miami with Iggy himself, and a rock n’ roll dream became reality!”

Darkness Rains track list:

1. More Dead

2. (One Less Thing) Before I Die

3. Disaster (Is What We're After)

4. Unzip Your Forehead

5. Wear Black

6. Abre Camino

7. Born Again and Again

8. Street Justice

9. Occupation: Ghost Writer

10. TV in Jail on Mars




Subscribe to this RSS feed