Facebook Slider

Scottish Music Awards Announce The Script, Frightened Rabbit And Gary Clark

  • Published in News

2018’s SSE Scottish Music Awards have today announced the final nominees for this year’s 20th ceremony, with The Script, Frightened Rabbit and Gary Clark all up for awards. Taking place on December 1 in Glasgow’s SEC; The Script are nominated for Best International Artist, Frightened Rabbit for the Song Writing Award and Gary Clark is nominated for the Music Business Award.

These artists join a host of nominees from across the country including; Eclair Fifi (Electronic Music Award), Kyle Falconer (Best Album), Mark Knopfler (Living Legend Award sponsored), Snow Patrol (Artist of the Year), The Snuts (Breakthrough Artist), Tom Grennan (Best UK Artist Award), with Annie Lennox and Susan Boyle also set to be honoured with the Scottish Music Hall of Fame Award.

The best of Scotland’s music industry will come together to celebrate a phenomenal year, while raising vital funds for the UK’s largest music therapy charity, Nordoff Robbins. Guests will be treated to performances by some of the country’s biggest stars, showing their support for the charity as Mark Knopfler, Snow Patrol, Susan Boyle, Amy Macdonald, Tom Grennan, Kyle Falconer and The Snuts all take to the stage.  

Irish trio, The Script, have no shortage of accolades with four UK number one albums, headline hometown stadium show at Croke Park and festival slots around the world under the belt, making it no surprise that they are nominated for Best International Artist at this year’s SSE Scottish Music Awards. Bringing their acclaimed pop-rock to Glasgow Green for 2018’s TRNSMT, The Script’s live shows are legendary and with over 29 million record sales to their name, the band have gone from strength to strength in their decade in the music industry.

Previous winners of the Best Live Band Award, Scotland’s Frightened Rabbit are nominated for this year’s Song Writing Award. Speaking about the award nomination, Geoff Ellis, CEO of DF Concerts said: “King Tut’s is recognised as a launch pad for many artists and as far as Scotland goes, it’s a venue that most bands start off in and Frightened Rabbit was one of them back in 2006 when they first played the venue. Frightened Rabbit’s music and lyrics will always hold a special place in our hearts at DF Concerts and King Tut’s, as well as in the rest of the Scottish music community.”

Dundonian songwriter, musician and producer Gary Clark is nominated for the Music Business Award, sponsored by the Sir Reo Stakis Foundation. Gary Clark began his career as singer-songwriter-instrumentalist in late '80s band Danny Wilson. He penned the band's 1987 international hit ‘Mary's Prayer’, now considered a classic, it still regularly re-enters the top 100 airplay charts in the UK.  He later moved into the areas of songwriting and production for other artists such as Natalie Imbruglia, Liz Phair, Lloyd Cole, Melanie C, Emma Bunton, Skin, Delta Goodrem, Mark Owen, The Xcerts, The Wanted and Demi Lovato. Clark has three BMI Awards, won Nordoff-Robbins songwriter Of The Year 2003, and has an Ivor Novello nomination for ‘Mary’s Prayer’.  He recently wrote the music for the film, Sing Street, and is currently writing the music for the Nanny McPhee stage musical with Emma Thompson.  He is also working on the music for an eight-episode series for Amazon Originals with John Carney.

Tickets for awards ceremony on sale now from www.nordoff-robbins.org.uk/scotland





SAY Award 2017 Longlist Announced At Dedicated Live Event

  • Published in News

Now in its sixth year, The Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award aims to recognise the most deserving albums released from Scotland, highlighting innovation and talent across the country. With previous winners including RM Hubbert and Young Fathers, this year's longlist once again represents an array of talent. With a £20,000 grand prize on the line, and £1,000 for each of the shortlisted artists, this is one of the UK's most substantial music awards.

In a first the organisers have opted to celebrate live music explicitly, by hosting an event to announce the longlist, featuring performances by three previous nominees. With a playlist of Scottish music providing the backdrop, Steve Mason, Admiral Fallow and Mungo's Hi Fi played sets showcasing the prowess of Scottish artists beyond their recordings.

After an exciting introduction to the event, Steve Mason entertained the crowd with a set of his enjoyable political acoustic guitar jams. With insightful and hard-hitting lyrics, Mason's melodic guitar playing really lifts the melancholy about society, and it's no surprise he's had numerous nominations for this very award.

Admiral Fallow followed with their first performance in Glasgow for a while, and their expansive brand of chamber pop was a captivating as always, using harmonies and dynamics to enthrall the crowd. Laced with some sincere crowd interaction, they're undoubtedly one of Scottish musical assets and a wonderful addition to the bill.

With everyone suitably comfortable, it was time for the main event, the longlist announcement. Representing many flavours of Scotland's musical landscape, you can find the twenty albums below (in alphabetical album by artist):

Adam Holmes and The Embers – Brighter Still
C Duncan – The Midnight Sun
Ela Orleans – Circles of Upper and Lower Hell
Fatherson – Open Book
Frightened Rabbit – Painting of a Panic Attack
Honeyblood – Babes Never Die
The Jesus and Mary Chain – Damage and Joy
King Creosote – Astronaut Meets Appleman
Konx-om-Pax – Caramel
Meursault – I Will Kill Again
Modern Studies – Swell To Great
Mogwai – Atomic
Pictish Trail – Future Echoes
Rachel Newton – Here's My Heart Come Take It
RM Hubbert – Telling The Trees
Sacred Paws – Strike A Match
Starless – Starless
Teenage Fanclub – Here
TeenCanteen – Say It All With A Kiss
Vukovi – Vukovi

Accompanied by YT, Mungo's Hi Fi then closed out the night with some party-worthy beats. Whilst the crowd thinned out fast following the announcement, perhaps there were trains to catch or this just isn't everyone's cup of tea, enough people remained to dance heartily to the music on offer.

With a successful "launch night" completed, the next stages of 2017's SAY Award can begin. From here the 20 albums will be whittled to 10, nine chosen by a panel of judges and the other by popular public vote on 12-14 June. Following the shortlist announcement on 15 June, the winner will be announced at Paisley Town Hall on 28 June at the final ceremony.

Subscribe to this RSS feed